Communitree

Community-based urban greening with a strategic, long-term vision

Gardening Activities


At Communitree we need YOUR help to green Cape Town. We aim to contribute to the greening of Cape Town by involving the community (that includes YOU!) to grow plants and green the city. Are you keen to join us? During July-August we will be working at Ryan Park in Rosebank. This is an abandoned space near Alma Road. We work every weekend, on Sunday from 14.00-16.00. We only cancel if it rains hard. Sign up below to join us!

Upcoming activities

Title Date Time Location More details
Sans Souci weeding Thursday 22 Feb 2018 16:30-17:30 Newlands Read more

Past activities

Title Date Time Location More details
Ryan Road Park Cleanup Saturday 27 May 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 23 Jul 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 30 Jul 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 06 Aug 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 13 Aug 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 20 Aug 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Liesbeek Parkway road strip planting Thursday 24 Aug 2017 17:00-18:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 27 Aug 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Planting next to the railroad Wednesday 30 Aug 2017 15:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 03 Sep 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Subway planting Wednesday 06 Sep 2017 15:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park Planting and Cleanup Sunday 10 Sep 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Agava removal and sour fig planting at Ryan Road Park Sunday 17 Sep 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Clearing and planting corner N2 and Liesbeek Parkway Sunday 01 Oct 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park - compost and planting Sunday 08 Oct 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park and Alma Park - cleanup Sunday 15 Oct 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Ryan Road Park and Alma Park - cleanup Sunday 29 Oct 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Saturday 04 Nov 2017 15:00-16:30 Newlands Read more
Alma Park Rockery cleanup Sunday 05 Nov 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Thursday 09 Nov 2017 13:45-15:00 Newlands Read more
Liesbeek Parkway garden maintenance Saturday 11 Nov 2017 17:00-18:00 Rosebank Read more
Weeding and grass cutting at Ryan Road Park Sunday 12 Nov 2017 14:00-16:00 Rosebank Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Monday 13 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Newlands Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Thursday 16 Nov 2017 14:00-15:00 Newlands Read more
Weeding and sheet mulching Sunday 19 Nov 2017 16:30-18:00 Rosebank Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Monday 20 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Newlands Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Thursday 23 Nov 2017 15:00-16:00 Newlands Read more
Sheet mulching and agava removal Sunday 26 Nov 2017 16:30-18:00 Rosebank Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Monday 27 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Newlands Read more
Sans Souci bridge patch: making a path in our plot Thursday 30 Nov 2017 14:00-15:00 Newlands Read more
Initial cleaning, planning and exploring along the Liesbeek Sunday 03 Dec 2017 17:00-18:00 Bishop's Court Read more
Planting and grass mowing at Ryan Road Park Sunday 10 Dec 2017 16:00-17:00 Rosebank Read more
Creating a path at Sans Souci bridge path Friday 15 Dec 2017 14:00-15:00 Newlands Read more
Last work on the foot path at Sans Souci Thursday 21 Dec 2017 16:00-17:30 Newlands Read more
Planting the first species at Koornhoop Corner Sunday 21 Jan 2018 18:00-19:00 Mowbray Read more
Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Sunday 28 Jan 2018 17:00-18:00 Mowbray Read more
Bring Your Own Bottle: Recovering Rondebosch Common Plants Sunday 04 Feb 2018 09:00-10:30 Rondebosch Read more
Planting carpobrothus and aloe at Ryan Rd Park Sunday 11 Feb 2018 18:00-19:30 Rosebank Read more

Communitree Newsletter

Receive our monthly updates in your mailbox