Gardening


During gardening events, we go out to a public greening site and work on general maintenance, cleaning, and upkeep of the plot. These events are key in our activities and they have a huge public impact. By keeping (often formerly abandoned) plots in good shape, the public space often transforms from an eyesore and underused space to an inviting space.

During the gardening events we often work on chores like cutting back or removing grass, cleaning up the space (littering is often an issue), removing weeds, taking care of the plants, and improving the soil. You do not need any gardening experience to join these events. The only thing that really matters is your enthusiasm to participate in public gardening! But if you do have some equipment, always feel free to bring this along. Especially useful are:

- Spades
- Cutters
- Garbage bags
- Gloves

Upcoming Gardening activities (0)

No upcoming activities found.

Past activities

Day Date Time Title Location More details
Friday 30 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 29 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 28 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Monday 26 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 23 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 22 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 21 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Monday 19 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 16 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 15 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Monday 12 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 09 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 08 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 07 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Monday 05 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 02 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 01 Nov 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 31 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 30 Oct 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 29 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 26 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 25 Oct 2018 11:30-12:30 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 24 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 23 Oct 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 22 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 19 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 18 Oct 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Thursday 18 Oct 2018 11:30-12:30 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Tuesday 16 Oct 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 15 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 12 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 11 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 10 Oct 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 09 Oct 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 08 Oct 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 05 Oct 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 04 Oct 2018 11:30-12:30 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 03 Oct 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 02 Oct 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 01 Oct 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Friday 28 Sep 2018 09:00-10:00 Gardening at Sun Path Rosebank Read more
Thursday 27 Sep 2018 11:30-12:30 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 26 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 25 Sep 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Thursday 20 Sep 2018 11:30-12:30 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 19 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 18 Sep 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 17 Sep 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Thursday 13 Sep 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 12 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 11 Sep 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Mowbray Read more
Monday 10 Sep 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Thursday 06 Sep 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Thursday 06 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu High Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 05 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 05 Sep 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Monday 03 Sep 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Saturday 01 Sep 2018 09:30-13:00 Gardening at Thandokhulu Patch Mowbray Read more
Saturday 01 Sep 2018 08:30-10:00 Weeding and Rehab at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 30 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 29 Aug 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 28 Aug 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at the Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 27 Aug 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Saturday 25 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Weeding and Rehab at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 23 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening event at San Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 22 Aug 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 21 Aug 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Tuesday 21 Aug 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at the Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 20 Aug 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Saturday 18 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Weeding and Rehab at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Friday 17 Aug 2018 09:00-12:00 Plant Counting and Incidental Weeding at Rondebosch Common Read more
Thursday 16 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at San Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 15 Aug 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 14 Aug 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 13 Aug 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Saturday 11 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Weeding and Rehab at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 09 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 08 Aug 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 07 Aug 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 06 Aug 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Saturday 04 Aug 2018 08:30-09:30 Gardening event at Rondebosch Common Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 02 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening along Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 01 Aug 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 31 Jul 2018 14:30-15:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 30 Jul 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Thursday 26 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 25 Jul 2018 15:00-16:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Wednesday 25 Jul 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 24 Jul 2018 15:00-16:00 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Monday 23 Jul 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Patch Rosebank Read more
Saturday 21 Jul 2018 09:00-11:00 Gardening at Park Road Middlemannetjie (Mandela Week) Rondebosch Read more
Friday 20 Jul 2018 15:00-17:00 Liesbeek River Litter Cleanup (Mandela Week) Read more
Friday 20 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre (Mandela Week) Read more
Thursday 19 Jul 2018 15:00-17:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park (Mandela Week) Rosebank Read more
Thursday 19 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Gardening at Cecil Park (Mandela Week) Mowbray Read more
Wednesday 18 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park (Mandela Day) Rosebank Read more
Wednesday 18 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Gardening at Rondebosch Common (Mandela Day) Rondebosch Read more
Tuesday 17 Jul 2018 15:00-17:00 Gardening at the Koornhoop Corner (Mandela Week) Mowbray Read more
Tuesday 17 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Gardening at the N2 Patch (Mandela Week) Rosebank Read more
Monday 16 Jul 2018 15:00-17:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park (Mandela Week) Rosebank Read more
Monday 16 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park (Mandela Week) Rosebank Read more
Saturday 14 Jul 2018 10:00-11:30 Planting event at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Thursday 12 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch - Canceled Newlands Read more
Wednesday 11 Jul 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Cecil Park/ Rondebosch Common area Mowbray Read more
Tuesday 10 Jul 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Monday 09 Jul 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at N2 Rosebank Read more
Thursday 05 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 04 Jul 2018 13:00-14:00 Gardening at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Tuesday 03 Jul 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening along Liesbeek Parkway Rosebank Read more
Monday 02 Jul 2018 11:00-12:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Saturday 30 Jun 2018 10:00-11:30 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Thursday 28 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Wednesday 27 Jun 2018 10:00-11:00 Gardening along Liesbeek Parkway Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 26 Jun 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Saturday 23 Jun 2018 10:00-11:30 Gardening along Liesbeek Parkway - NEW LOCATION Rosebank Read more
Thursday 21 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Thursday 21 Jun 2018 09:00-15:00 Tree Collection in Constantia Read more
Wednesday 20 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Sour fig planting at Alma Bridge with Kaydee Rosebank Read more
Wednesday 20 Jun 2018 11:45-12:45 Sour fig planting at Alma Bridge with Gordon's Gym Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 19 Jun 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at the Rosebank subway Rosebank Read more
Thursday 14 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening along Liesbeek Parkway CANCELED Rosebank Read more
Wednesday 13 Jun 2018 10:00-12:00 Weeding at the Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Tuesday 12 Jun 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Cecil Park Mowbray Read more
Saturday 09 Jun 2018 10:00-11:30 Gardening at Rondebosch Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 07 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Newlands Read more
Tuesday 05 Jun 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Saturday 02 Jun 2018 10:00-11:30 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Thursday 31 May 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Liesbeek Parkway Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 29 May 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Koornhoop Corner Mowbray Read more
Saturday 26 May 2018 10:00-11:30 Gardening at the Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more
Thursday 24 May 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at the Rosebank subway Rosebank Read more
Tuesday 22 May 2018 17:00-18:00 Gardening at Liesbeek Parkway Rosebank Read more
Saturday 19 May 2018 16:00-17:30 Gardening at Ryan Road Park Rosebank Read more
Thursday 17 May 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at the Rosebank subway Rosebank Read more
Wednesday 02 May 2018 10:00-12:00 weeding Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle Rondebosch Read more

Go to activities calendar

Communitree Newsletter

Receive our monthly updates in your mailbox

Green Elephant

Communitree's offices are kindly hosted at the Green Elephant, Observatory. Visit Green Elephant for an environmentally conscious accommodation experience.