Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle - Site #65


Friends of the Rondebosch Common

Group associated with this site

This traffic circle was originally planted with indigenous vegetation from the Rondebosch Common (which is right next to the traffic circle). However, due to an unfortunate incident all this vegetation was accidentally removed from the traffic circle in February 2018. Some of the offcuts have been salvaged and we are working hard to grow them back and restore them!

Next activity

Bird monitoring Mowbray, Rosebank & Rondebosch (Jun 12, 2019)


Read more about
Friends of the Rondebosch Common


Why is this important?

This site is located in Rondebosch. Rondebosch is located in close proximity to Table Mountain, and there is a lot of potential to create 'stepping stones' within the area that allow animals (like birds) to come down from Table Mountain and expand their territory, possibly connecting with other areas in the region. However, in order to have a funcional network of stepping stones it is important that the right species are planted throughout the neighbourhood, and that there are sufficient green sites in the area.

Read more about our greening strategy

Plants

We have indexed the following species at this site:

  • Pelargonium capitatum - Rose-scented pelargonium
  • Lampranthus glaucus - Yellow noon flower
  • Struthiola striata - Roemenaggie
  • Lampranthus filicaulis
  • Tetragonia fruticosa - Churl bush
  • Ruschia geminiflora
  • Lampranthus glaucus - Yellow noon flower
  • Home nursery activity

    One or more harvests have taken place from this site. Below is the overview of the current status of these harvests:

    Species Status Quantity View details
    Pelargonium capitatum germinating 147 View details
    Pelargonium capitatum perished 409 View details
    Pelargonium capitatum planted 92 View details
    Pelargonium capitatum rooting 42 View details
    Lampranthus filicaulis germinating 51 View details
    Lampranthus filicaulis perished 55 View details
    Lampranthus filicaulis planted 8 View details
    Lampranthus glaucus germinating 28 View details
    Lampranthus glaucus perished 29 View details
    Lampranthus glaucus planted 1 View details
    Ruschia geminiflora germinating 3 View details
    Struthiola striata germinating 57 View details
    Struthiola striata perished 65 View details
    Tetragonia fruticosa perished 20 View details

    Planting log

    At this site we have planted the following species:

    Species Batch Date Quantity Status
    Lampranthus glaucus Batch #171 Jul 28, 2018 1 planted
    Lampranthus reptans Batch #191 Aug 11, 2018 1 planted
    Zantedeschia aethiopica Batch #196 Aug 11, 2018 6 planted
    Lampranthus reptans Batch #242 Jul 28, 2018 11 planted
    Lampranthus reptans Batch #242 Aug 11, 2018 3 planted

    Below is the list with the different species that can be grown on this site. These species would contribute to the greening of , and would fit in with a wider greening strategy for Cape Town. However, this vision is only a proposal and we invite you to comment on it. Are there any other species that would do well? Are there particular uses for this site that we should take into consideration? Do you have a spectacular vision for the plot? Do you have any ideas to involve the wider community? Please let us know!

    Wish List Overview

    Item Quantity Pledge support
    Lampranthus filicaulis 50 I can help!
    Ruschia geminiflora 20 I can help!
    Churl bush
    Tetragonia fruticosa
    20 I can help!
    Kooigoed
    Seriphium plumosum
    30 I can help!
    Roemenaggie
    Struthiola striata
    50 I can help!
    Rose-scented pelargonium
    Pelargonium capitatum
    20 I can help!
    Slime lily
    Albuca juncifolia
    20 I can help!
    Yellow noon flower
    Lampranthus glaucus
    80 I can help!
    Yellow soldier
    Lachenalia reflexa
    20 I can help!

    If you can help growing any of these species, click the blue button in the table above.

    Upcoming activities

    Date Time More details
    Wednesday 12 Jun 2019 08:00-09:00 Read more
    Wednesday 17 Jul 2019 08:00-09:00 Read more

    Past activities

    Date Time More details
    Sunday 04 Feb 2018 09:00-10:30 Read more
    Wednesday 02 May 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Saturday 26 May 2018 10:00-11:30 Read more
    Saturday 09 Jun 2018 10:00-11:30 Read more
    Wednesday 13 Jun 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 20 Jun 2018 10:00-13:00 Read more
    Wednesday 20 Jun 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 04 Jul 2018 13:00-14:00 Read more
    Wednesday 11 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 18 Jul 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Saturday 21 Jul 2018 09:00-13:00 Read more
    Saturday 28 Jul 2018 08:30-09:30 Read more
    Saturday 04 Aug 2018 08:30-09:30 Read more
    Wednesday 08 Aug 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Saturday 11 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Read more
    Saturday 18 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Read more
    Saturday 25 Aug 2018 08:30-10:00 Read more
    Saturday 01 Sep 2018 08:30-10:00 Read more
    Wednesday 12 Sep 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 10 Oct 2018 08:30-11:00 Read more
    Wednesday 14 Nov 2018 08:00-10:00 Read more
    Wednesday 14 Nov 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 12 Dec 2018 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Friday 11 Jan 2019 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Monday 11 Feb 2019 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 20 Feb 2019 10:00-12:00 Read more
    Wednesday 20 Mar 2019 08:00-09:00 Read more
    Tuesday 09 Apr 2019 10:00-10:30 Read more
    Wednesday 10 Apr 2019 08:00-09:00 Read more
    Friday 26 Apr 2019 07:00-19:00 Read more
    Wednesday 15 May 2019 10:00-12:00 Read more

    Communitree Newsletter

    Receive our monthly updates in your mailbox

    Our sponsors

    We thank our 2019 sponsors for their support in our work. If your company or organisation wants to help support Communitree, click here to get in touch.