Sans Souci Bridge Patch - Site #62


This site is located next to the Sans Souci Bridge and the Liesbeek trail, along the Liesbeek River. It is a bit abandoned, with quite some glass and litter. However, there is a lot of potential with the river flowing right next to it and some benches providing a seating area. The Friends of the Liesbeek team has recently cleared the more aggressive vegetation and in the cleared areas more suitable indigenous vegetation can be planted. We have chosen a selection of nectar-rich sunbird plants from the Cape Flats Sand Fynbos and Peninsula Shale Renorsterveld to start. This site is also situated close to Penisual Shale Fynbos vegetation type area so we will see what plants from these three different vegetation types survive best.

Read more about
Friends of the Liesbeek

Friends of the Liesbeek

Group associated with this site

Garden checklist

  • Initial assessment Completed
  • Removal of invasive aliens Completed
  • Landscaping In progress
  • Planting of pioneers species Completed
  • Planting of insect and bird species In progress
  • Planting of specialist species Pending
  • Place-making Pending

Planting log

At this site we have planted the following species:

Species Batch Date Quantity Status
Gazania rigens var. uniflora Batch #63 Jun 28, 2018 9 planted
Chasmanthe floribunda Batch #71 Apr 02, 2018 25 planted
Cotyledon orbiculata Batch #114 Jun 28, 2018 2 planted
Leonotis ocymifolia Batch #145 Aug 23, 2018 20 planted
Lampranthus glaucus Batch #172 Apr 03, 2019 4 planted
Pelargonium capitatum Batch #176 Jul 26, 2018 14 planted
Pelargonium capitatum Batch #177 Nov 09, 2018 15 planted
Carpobrotus edulis Batch #189 Jun 07, 2018 150 planted
Lachenalia reflexa Batch #195 Apr 03, 2019 2 planted
Gazania rigens var. uniflora Batch #200 Jun 28, 2018 49 planted
Cotyledon orbiculata Batch #201 Jun 28, 2018 1 planted
Aloe arborescens Batch #226 Jul 26, 2018 8 planted
Arctotis stoechadifolia Batch #236 Aug 02, 2018 33 planted
Gazania rigens var. uniflora Batch #237 Aug 02, 2018 31 planted
Gazania rigens var. uniflora Batch #250 Aug 23, 2018 70 planted
Zantedeschia aethiopica Batch #251 Aug 23, 2018 8 planted
Felicia aethiopica Batch #289 Oct 18, 2018 5 planted
Delosperma cooperi Batch #290 Oct 18, 2018 2 planted
Gazania rigens var. rigens Batch #291 Oct 18, 2018 10 planted
Bulbine frutescens Batch #292 Oct 25, 2018 4 planted
Lampranthus glaucus Batch #293 Apr 03, 2019 2 planted
Helichrysum patulum Batch #321 Oct 12, 2018 1 planted
Salvia africana-lutea Batch #322 Oct 12, 2018 1 planted
Cliffortia obcordata Batch #323 Oct 12, 2018 1 planted
Metalasia densa Batch #324 Oct 12, 2018 1 planted
Athanasia dentata Batch #325 Oct 12, 2018 1 planted
Delosperma cooperi Batch #328 Feb 14, 2019 36 planted
Plectranthus neochilus Batch #330 Apr 03, 2019 5 planted
Asystasia gangetica micrantha Batch #331 Apr 03, 2019 5 planted
Crassula dejecta Batch #332 Apr 03, 2019 2 planted
Pelargonium capitatum Batch #356 Jul 23, 2019 2 planted
Plectranthus neochilus Batch #371 Jul 23, 2019 10 planted
Delosperma cooperi Batch #372 Jul 23, 2019 12 planted
Delosperma cooperi Batch #372 Jul 24, 2019 6 planted
Portulacaria afra Batch #373 Jul 23, 2019 6 planted
Eriocephalus africanus Batch #374 Jul 23, 2019 1 planted
Eriocephalus africanus Batch #374 Jul 24, 2019 1 planted
Tetragonia fruticosa Batch #375 Jul 23, 2019 12 planted
Pelargonium capitatum Batch #376 Jul 23, 2019 8 planted
Plectranthus neochilus Batch #381 Jul 24, 2019 20 planted

Home nursery activity

One or more harvests have taken place from this site. Below is the overview of the current status of these harvests:

Species Status Quantity View details
Leonotis leonurus perished 1 View details
Leonotis leonurus rooting 9 View details
Plectranthus neochilus planted 124 View details

Corridors

This garden is part of the following corridor(s):

Liesbeek River Corridor

Status: Ongoing

Timeframe: 2018 onwards

Below is the list with the different species that can be grown on this site. These species would contribute to the greening of , and would fit in with a wider greening strategy for Cape Town. However, this vision is only a proposal and we invite you to comment on it. Are there any other species that would do well? Are there particular uses for this site that we should take into consideration? Do you have a spectacular vision for the plot? Do you have any ideas to involve the wider community? Please let us know!

Wish List Overview

Item Quantity Pledge support
Erica verticillata 5 I can help!
Protea burchellii 5 I can help!
Blue sage
Salvia africana-caerulea
10 I can help!
Bugle lily
Watsonia meriana
35 I can help!
Camphor-scented pelargonium
Pelargonium betulinum
10 I can help!
Camphor-scented pelargonium
Pelargonium betulinum
7 I can help!
Cape agapanthus
Agapanthus africanus
40 I can help!
Cobra lily
Chasmanthe floribunda
30 I can help!
Grey tree pincushion
Leucospermum conocarpodendron
5 I can help!
Hooded-leaf pelargonium
Pelargonium cucullatum
7 I can help!
Nine-pin Heath
Erica mammosa
5 I can help!
Oak-leafed waxberry
Morella quercifolia
7 I can help!
Rose-scented pelargonium
Pelargonium capitatum
7 I can help!
Rusty sage
Salvia lanceolata
10 I can help!
Slime lily
Albuca juncifolia
200 I can help!
Small cobra lily
Chasmanthe aethiopica
40 I can help!
Sour fig
Carpobrotus edulis
30 I can help!
Sugarbush
Protea repens
5 I can help!
Tickberry
Osteospermum moniliferum
40 I can help!
Touch-me-not
Melianthus major
25 I can help!
White arum lily
Zantedeschia aethiopica
30 I can help!
Wild aster
Felicia aethiopica
20 I can help!
Wild dagga
Leonotis leonurus
8 I can help!
Yellow cobra lily
Chasmanthe floribunda 'Duckittii'
30 I can help!
Yellow soldier
Lachenalia reflexa
200 I can help!

If you can help growing any of these species, click the blue button in the table above.

Past activities

Date Time Title More details
Saturday 04 Nov 2017 15:00-16:30 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Thursday 09 Nov 2017 13:45-15:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Monday 13 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Thursday 16 Nov 2017 14:00-15:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Monday 20 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Thursday 23 Nov 2017 15:00-16:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Monday 27 Nov 2017 13:00-14:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: cleaning and planting Read more
Thursday 30 Nov 2017 14:00-15:00 Sans Souci bridge patch: making a path in our plot Read more
Friday 15 Dec 2017 14:00-15:00 Creating a path at Sans Souci bridge path Read more
Thursday 21 Dec 2017 16:00-17:30 Last work on the foot path at Sans Souci Read more
Thursday 22 Feb 2018 16:30-17:30 Sans Souci weeding Read more
Monday 02 Apr 2018 17:00-17:30 Cobra lilly planting at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 07 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 21 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 28 Jun 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 05 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 12 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch - Canceled Read more
Thursday 26 Jul 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 02 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening along Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 09 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 16 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at San Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 23 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening event at San Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Saturday 25 Aug 2018 11:30-13:00 Planting strelitzia at Sans Souci Read more
Thursday 30 Aug 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 06 Sep 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 13 Sep 2018 14:00-15:00 Gardening at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Thursday 18 Oct 2018 09:00-12:00 planting at Sans Souci for doccie prep Read more
Friday 30 Nov 2018 15:00-17:00 San Souci Community Event Read more
Wednesday 10 Apr 2019 02:45-03:00 Garden Tour 5 Read more
Friday 26 Apr 2019 07:00-19:00 iNaturalist City Nature Challenge Read more
Monday 24 Jun 2019 08:30-09:00 Bird monitoring in Newlands Read more
Monday 29 Jul 2019 08:30-09:00 Bird monitoring in Newlands Read more
Monday 12 Aug 2019 09:30-10:00 Bird monitoring in Newlands Read more
Tuesday 03 Sep 2019 14:00-15:00 Planting and weeding Sesssion ( closed event) Read more
Wednesday 11 Sep 2019 09:00-09:30 Bird monitoring in Newlands Read more
Wednesday 09 Oct 2019 09:00-09:30 Bird monitoring at Sans Souci Bridge Patch Read more
Wednesday 20 Nov 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 02 Nov 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 08 Oct 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 06 Oct 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 03 Oct 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 01 Oct 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 25 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 19 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 17 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 16 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 11 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 10 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 09 Sep 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 25 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 15 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 12 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 10 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 06 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 06 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 02 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 01 Aug 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 19 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 15 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 14 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 13 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 11 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 06 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 05 Jul 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 28 Jun 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 26 Jun 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 23 Jun 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 07 Jun 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 23 May 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 23 May 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 23 May 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 23 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 21 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 20 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 19 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 18 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 17 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 16 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 15 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 14 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 13 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 12 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 11 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 06 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 05 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 04 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 03 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 02 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 01 Apr 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 30 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 29 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 29 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 28 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 27 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 26 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 25 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 24 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 21 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 20 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 19 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 17 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 13 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 09 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 06 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 05 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 03 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 02 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 02 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 01 Mar 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 28 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 26 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 24 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 22 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 22 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 19 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 19 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 19 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 18 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 18 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 18 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 17 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 15 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 14 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 09 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 06 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 06 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 05 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 04 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 04 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 04 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 04 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 04 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 03 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 01 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 01 Feb 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 28 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 27 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 27 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 27 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 26 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 26 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Saturday 19 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 14 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 14 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 10 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 10 Jan 2019
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 31 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Sunday 30 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 27 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 27 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 25 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 24 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 21 Dec 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 05 Nov 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 09 Oct 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Monday 24 Sep 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Thursday 13 Sep 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 01 Jun 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Wednesday 14 Mar 2018
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 05 Sep 2017
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 05 Sep 2017
Sightings report
Read more
Tuesday 29 Aug 2017
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 30 Jun 2017
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 30 Jun 2017
Sightings report
Read more
Friday 30 Jun 2017
Sightings report
Read more

Communitree Newsletter

Receive our monthly updates in your mailbox

Our sponsors

We thank our 2019 sponsors for their support in our work. If your company or organisation wants to help support Communitree, click here to get in touch.