Training


During a training event, Communitree and friends help volunteers learn skills and acquire information they need to grow plants at home, to identify plants, know about the ecology, and to green in a responsible way. We hold different types of training events and workshops to try and cater to a wide audience.

Communitree organises home nursery workshops, in which we go over the process of setting up a home nursery, and we show how to plant seeds or cuttings and how to care for them. We hold these workshops ever first Saturday of the month. At the same time, we work with the team at the Habitat Restoration Unit at the City of Cape Town. This unit, located at Westlake Conservation Centre, has a wealth of knowledge on growing indigenous vegetation from seed or cutting, and we have different training opportunities here. Every Friday, our volunteers can join us for a "work and volunteer" session at the Westlake nursery, where we will help out at the nursery while learning about the plants and nursery management. Furthermore, special beginners training sessions are held every now and then in collaboration with the Habitat Restoration Unit, to teach about setting up a home nursery. Finally, Communitree collaborates with the Iingcungcu sunbird project and the Cape Bird Club to provide people with training on bird monitoring and identification. This is part of our monitoring programme.

Upcoming Training activities (6)

Day Date Time Title More details
Monday 25 Mar 2019 10:00-11:45 Beginner's Fynbos Propagation (closed event) Read more
Tuesday 09 Apr 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more
Wednesday 10 Apr 2019 11:00-12:30 Advanced Plant Propagation Read more
Saturday 13 Apr 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more
Saturday 04 May 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more
Tuesday 07 May 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more

Past activities

Day Date Time Title More details
Wednesday 20 Mar 2019 11:00-12:30 Weeding workshop Read more
Saturday 09 Mar 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more
Wednesday 06 Mar 2019 15:00-16:00 Beginner's Fynbos Propagation Read more
Tuesday 05 Mar 2019 10:30-12:00 Plant propagation - beginners Read more
Wednesday 20 Feb 2019 11:00-13:30 Beginner's Fynbos Propagation Read more
Sunday 11 Nov 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Sunday 07 Oct 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Sunday 30 Sep 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Sunday 16 Sep 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Friday 14 Sep 2018 13:00-15:00 Propagation training at SAB Newlands Read more
Sunday 02 Sep 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Friday 31 Aug 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Friday 24 Aug 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Sunday 19 Aug 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Friday 10 Aug 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Friday 03 Aug 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Sunday 29 Jul 2018 11:30-13:00 Spring Walk at Rondebosch Common Read more
Friday 27 Jul 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Friday 27 Jul 2018 09:00-15:00 Thandokhulu High Read more
Saturday 21 Jul 2018 09:00-13:00 Weed Training at Rondebosch Common Traffic Circle (Mandela Week) Read more
Friday 20 Jul 2018 09:00-15:00 Thandokhulu High (Mandela Week) Read more
Friday 13 Jul 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Saturday 07 Jul 2018 10:00-11:30 Volunteer training workshop Read more
Friday 06 Jul 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Tuesday 03 Jul 2018 09:00-12:00 Fynbos propagation workshop for beginners in Bonteheuwel Read more
Friday 29 Jun 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Friday 22 Jun 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Saturday 16 Jun 2018 08:30-11:00 Beginners seed germination and cutting propagation at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Friday 15 Jun 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Saturday 09 Jun 2018 09:00-12:30 Bird monitor training Read more
Friday 08 Jun 2018 09:00-12:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more
Thursday 31 May 2018 09:00-13:00 Beginners cutting propagation and nursery training at Westlake Conservation Centre - POSTPONED Read more
Friday 25 May 2018 13:00-15:00 Volunteer work and training at Westlake Conservation Centre Read more

Go to activities calendar

Communitree Newsletter

Receive our monthly updates in your mailbox

Our sponsors

We thank our 2019 sponsors for their support in our work. If your company or organisation wants to help support Communitree, click here to get in touch.